International Decade of Indigenous Languages Directions Group Communique

UNESCO has declared 2022 the International Decade of Indigenous Languages (International Decade). First Languages Australia is working in partnership with the Australian Government and Indigenous language experts throughout the nation to set the agenda for the International Decade through the establishment of the International Decade of Indigenous Languages Directions Group (Directions Group).

The Directions Group was formed by the Office for the Arts in partnership with First Languages Australia to direct the work plan for the International Decade to ensure Indigenous voices are central to Australia's contributions. There are 12 Indigenous language experts within the group who represent all states, genders and ages to provide a national perspective to Australia's support for the International Decade.

The Directions Group gathered in Canberra on the 10-11 May to begin planning for the International Decade. A subsequent meeting was then held on 7 June to finalise the Terms of Reference. A list of members is attached.

The group has agreed on a vision statement for Indigenous languages and set the values that will guide its work moving forward. The Directions Group has agreed to release communiques on First Languages Australia's online networks following each meeting to ensure transparency and openness with the Indigenous languages networks.

The Directions Group Vision for Indigenous languages

All Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people across Australia have a right to access and use their traditional languages in all aspects of their lives without discrimination.

By 2032 we will have strong Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages across Australia, with no language considered "endangered". Our languages will be spoken across generations within homes and in the community.

Our languages will be recognised and protected through policy and legislation. Our traditional languages valued, protected and nourished to live and thrive in our families and communities in perpetuity.









Any questions can be directed to First Languages Australia contact Annalee Pope via email annalee@firstlanguages.org.au or Office for the Arts contact Tamika Townsend via IndigenousLanguagesSecretariat@arts.gov.au.

Direction Group Members

Member Name	Location	State	Language Group
Mr Beau Williams (Co-Chair)	Broken Hill	NSW	Murrawarri
Ms Annalee Pope (Co-Chair)	Condon	QLD	Wakka Wakka
Mr Desmond Crump	Yamanto, City of Ipswich	QLD	Gamilaraay
Ms Joyce Bonner	Nikenbah (Fraser Coast Region)	QLD	Butchulla
Mr Phillemon Mosby	Poruma Island (Torres Strait)	QLD	Kulkalgaw Ya
Ms Jillian Mundy	North Hobart	TAS	Pakana
Mr Daryn McKenny	Newcastle	NSW	Gamilaraay
Mr Gawura Wanambi	Darwin	NT	Yolnu Matha
Ms Shania Armstrong	Alice Springs	NT	Pertame (Southern Arrente)
Mr Clayton Cruse	Leigh Creek (Far North Region)	SA	Adnyamathanta
Dr Vicki Couzens	Footscray, Melbourne	VIC	Keerray Wooroong
Ms Lorraine Injie	South Headland (Pilbara Region)	WA	Yinhawangka speaker
Ms Denise Smith-Ali	Belmont, Perth	WA	Noongar





