Communique - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages Policy Partnership Meeting 21-22 June 2023

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages Policy Partnership (LPP) came together for its second meeting on 21 – 22 June 2023. Aunty Maxine Ryan provided the Welcome to Country, and the Gujaga Foundation presented their Dharawal Language program.

The LPP Agreement to Implement was formally endorsed by the Partnership, securing its establishment and initial term for three years. The parties also worked through LPP Operating Protocols and agreed to develop a communications and engagement strategy to guide visibility, awareness and information sharing about the LPP.

The meeting focussed on the Closing the Gap Priority Reforms (PR) and the development of a policy priorities framework.

The LPP concentrated on PR1 – data and information sharing - and PR4 - access to data and information. This included the following:

- Overview of Target 16 and LPP data work, including data development processes, policy needs, and LPP involvement going forward. The LPP identified the lack of usable baseline data for Target 16. The discussion focussed on the need for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities to define 'strong, supported and flourishing' languages and shape and collect their own data across the country. The group agreed to develop a data integrity framework for language data planning and actions under Target 16.
- A languages mapping tool developed by First Languages Australia was presented which
 provides a national environmental map and scan of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
 language initiatives across the country.
- A presentation was given by Office of the Arts on the funding distribution of the Indigenous Languages and Arts program. The group then offered strategic policy advice to transform and improve systemic barriers, empower the community-controlled sector, and improve program outcomes.

The policy priorities framework will set a national standard for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander language policymaking and investment for all Australian governments. The priorities will constitute the breadth of the LPP's work during its term.

The Partnership workshopped key goals and priorities. Seven key priorities emerged, these include:

- A sustained increase in the number and strength of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages being spoken
- Language sector strengthening
- Increased and targeted funding
- Increasing the value of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages
- Languages legislation
- Language retrieval and repatriation
- Access to Country

The Partnership also discussed developing a prioritisation framework with a view to developing the LPP's Forward Work Agenda. The next meeting of the LPP will be held on 10,11 October in Broome, Western Australia.

Meeting attendee list

Coalition of Peaks representatives	
Heather Sculthorpe	Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre
Karina Lester	Mobile Language Unit
Vicki Couzens	Victorian Aboriginal Corporation for Languages
Beau Williams	First Languages Australia, Co-Chair
Independent Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representatives	
Patsy Ngalu Bedford	Independent
Daryn McKenny	Independent
Leitha Assan	Independent
Samantha Armstrong	Independent
Gulwanyang Moran	Independent
Government representatives	
Shelagh Magadza, on behalf of Erin Gauntlett	Department of Local Government, Sport, and Cultural Industries, Western Australian Government
Clare McHugh	Aboriginal Languages Trust, New South Wales Government
Kathy Parton	Department of Treaty, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, Communities and the Arts, Queensland Government
Stephen Fraser	Department of Education, Victorian Government
Adam Potito, on behalf of Jodee Wilson	Department of Education, Children and Young People, Tasmanian Government
Bronwyn Milera, on behalf of Deonne Smith	Department for Education, South Australian Government
Telesha Newman, on behalf of Brendan Moyle	Office of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, ACT Government
Stephen Arnott	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communication, and the Arts, Commonwealth Government